MUSIC

A new gig scene

The underground movement that is changing the way we experience live music.

Kate Darmody
2 min readOct 18, 2018

--

L.A. VanGogh performing at Sofar Chicago, image curtesy Sofar Sounds

The enigmatic, inspiring and rapidly growing, Sofar Sounds movement has transformed from what was once a small collective of music fans to a global phenomenon that enables musical freedom. Sofar, an acronym for Songs From A Room, invests in supporting independent artists while focusing on the intimacy of small audiences within unique venues.

Using technology as their platform for growth and marketing, it is encouraging to hear that something of its size is mostly volunteer run.

I started attending sofar shows several years ago and when I moved to a new city I found it helpful in meeting new people. I started volunteering for Sofar Sounds a little over 3 years ago now and I feel very blessed for what I have gained. I have had the opportunity to meet some talented musicians, establish fulfilling friendships , all while finding a creative outlet enabled complete freedom in my work — something that can be rare when designing for clients.

Here are a few of the posters I have worked on over the years:

Originally published at http://www.katedarmody.space on October 18, 2018.

--

--

Kate Darmody

Product Design Expert, Writer and Creative. I build products & tell stories. Published in The Startup, Bootcamp, Muzli & UX Collective.